Entering the Open Source World via Google Summer of Code 2023

My selection journey into GSoC

Entering the Open Source World via Google Summer of Code 2023

Alright, but what is GSoC?

Google Summer of Code, akka GSoC, is an international program that takes place annually, providing a unique opportunity for students from around the globe to actively engage in and contribute to open-source software projects. This program is organized during the summer months (May-August) and offers a platform for students to gain valuable hands-on experience in the world of open-source software development.

To learn more: Visit the GSoC site!

How I got Started?

I first heard about GSoC when I was in college. I was really excited to learn about open source and this flagship program. I had always wanted to contribute to open-source projects, and GSoC seemed like the perfect opportunity.

However, I did not apply that year because I did not have enough expertise in a specific domain. I knew that I needed to focus on developing my skills and experience if I wanted to be successful in the application process.

So, I started preparing for GSoC 2023. I kept an eye on the organizations, explored different fields, and experimented with several technologies. I finally decided to focus on web development and created some projects to understand the concepts well.

For a while, I forgot about GSoC and focused on learning. I knew that this was one of the major skills that would help me in my application. I also started building relationships with people in the open-source community. I attended meetups, conferences, and online forums.

About four months before the final deadline, I started preparing again. I visited the GSoC website and waited for the organizations to announce their projects. When the projects were released, I shortlisted 5-6 projects that used web development as their technology.

Researching Projects

I spent the next 1-2 weeks getting to know the projects and connecting with the mentors on Slack, IRC, and email. After a lot of research, I decided to work on the SnowFlake Landing Page Revamp project from The Tor Project. This project seemed to be a good fit for my skills and experience.

This project requires specific skills like Bootstrap, HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Lektor, a static content management system that I had never used before. This initially made me feel uncertain, but I didn't let it discourage me. Instead, I took it as an opportunity to learn something new.

I started learning about Lektor, dedicating my time and effort to understanding its concepts and how it works. I didn't hesitate to reach out to my mentors whenever I had questions. They were incredibly supportive and friendly, always ready to help me out. Their guidance played a crucial role to get into the deep of my project.

Writing the Proposal (Important!)

With just one month left before the deadline, I started working on my proposal. I wanted it to be perfect, so I spent a lot of time reviewing and revising it. I wanted to make sure that every detail was just right. I also sought feedback from my mentors, who gave me valuable suggestions to improve it even more.

I felt confident in my proposal because I had put in a lot of effort. I carefully considered each section and made sure that my passion for the project shone through. Finally, after several rounds of edits, I submitted my proposal to the GSoC website. It was a proud moment for me, knowing that I had given it my all.

Here I am sharing some tips that you should consider:

  • Start early

  • Research your organization & project well (Check if they provide a template!!)

  • Show your passion & include only correct information.

  • Your weekly/biweekly timeline should be realistic & clear.

  • Taking feedback is a must!

  • Be confident and focused don't just include irrelevant stuff that is not related to your project.

  • Consider adding graphics/images to demonstrate what you will be going to work on!

  • Be confident about your proposal! Submitting three proposals may show that you are not confident about the project, so submit one proposal with the same energy and effort that you would have put into three!!

Waiting for Results

Once I submitted my proposal, I had to wait for a whole month to hear back from the Tor Project. It felt like an eternity, and I couldn't help but feel a mix of nervousness and excitement. I knew that the Tor Project received countless proposals and had the challenging task of selecting the best ones.

Then, on that unforgettable day, May 4th, an email from the Tor Project appeared in my inbox. My heart raced as I opened it, and there it was — the news I had been eagerly waiting for. I had been selected for GSoC 2023! The joy and excitement that flooded my being were indescribable. I couldn't contain my happiness, and I immediately shared the incredible news with my family. Their faces lit up with pride and happiness, and their support throughout my journey made this achievement even more special.

Community Bonding Period

During the community bonding period, I had the wonderful chance to attend a meet-up with the GSoC program advisor. It was an interactive session where we had the opportunity to address any doubts or questions we had about the program. The advisor provided valuable insights and guidance, helping us feel more confident and prepared for the upcoming project.

The highlight of the community bonding period was undoubtedly the GSoC Summit 2023. This global event brought together GSoC participants from all over the world. We had the chance to hear from googlers & developers about their stories, learn from their journeys, and gain valuable insights into the benefits they had received from their GSoC/Open-source experience.

We connected through various platforms like LinkedIn and Twitter and created dedicated groups on WhatsApp, Telegram, and Discord. Engaging with fellow students on these platforms allowed us to form a supportive community even before officially starting our projects. It was awe-inspiring to connect with talented individuals not just from my country, but from diverse backgrounds and cultures around the globe.

The community bonding period played a crucial role in expanding my horizons and establishing connections within the GSoC community. The knowledge, connections, and friendships formed during this period will undoubtedly have a lasting impact on my GSoC journey.

I am grateful for the opportunity to learn, connect, and grow alongside such passionate and talented individuals.

Conclusion

I hope that my story will inspire others to apply for GSoC. It is a great program that can help you learn new skills, make new connections, and contribute to open-source projects.